The Spectacular Now–Spirit Award 2014 Nominations

By November 26, 2013December 16th, 2013No Comments

The 29th Annual Film Independent Spirit Award nominations were announced this morning in Los Angeles, and Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave” led the field with 7 nominations including best feature, best director and acting nods for Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong’o and Michael Fassbender.

“12 Years” was joined in the snub-heavy best feature category by JC Chandor’s “All Is Lost,” Noah Baumbach’s “Frances Ha,” Joel & Ethan Coen’s “Inside Llewyn Davis” and Alexander Payne’s “Nebraska.” Not present were the likes of Richard Linklater’s “Before Midnight,” David Lowery’s “Ain’t Them Bodies Saints,” Nicole Holofcener’s “Enough Said,” Woody Allen’s “Blue Jasmine,” Destin Cretton’s “Short Term 12” and Jean-Marc Vallée’s “Dallas Buyers Club.” Though all of those films — save the entirely snubbed “Saints” — were present elsewhere.  This clearly goes to show what a standout year it was for American independent film.

More commentary to come. The nominees for the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards below.

Cate Blanchett
Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy
Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann
Crystal Fairy
Brie Larson
Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley
The Spectacular Now


Woody Allen
Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater
Before Midnight
Nicole Holofcener
Enough Said
Scott Neustadter &
Michael H. Weber
The Spectacular Now
John Ridley
12 Years a Slave